News, PHIA Programs & Awards

Call for Nominations: Transportation Advocate of the Year

January 14, 2013 by · Comments Off on Call for Nominations: Transportation Advocate of the Year
Filed under: News, PHIA Programs & Awards 

PHIA’s mission is to be the leading organization educating the public on the importance and value of a safe and modern highway system.  As part of our mission, we periodically recognize those persons making lasting and outstanding contributions to the highway industry.

If you would like to nominate an individual to be considered for the award, please complete and return the enclosed form.  A committee will be assembled to review all nominations received.  The award will be presented at the PHIA Annual Meeting scheduled for April 23, 2013.

Nominees must be a highway transportation advocate from the public or private sector–working or retired–who lives in Pennsylvania.  Membership in PHIA is not required.  Recognition of an individual may be based on his or her contributions in a given year or for outstanding service in promoting the benefits of a vibrant, efficient and modern highway system over several years.

Please submit all nominations by March 1, 2013. 

  • To view a list of past recipients of the Transportation Advocate of the Year Award, go HERE.



Geist named PHIA Advocate of the Year

April 27, 2011 by · Comments Off on Geist named PHIA Advocate of the Year
Filed under: News 

Rick Geist, an Altoona Republican and chair of the Pennsylvania House Transportation Committee, was honored as PHIA Advocate of the Year at the organization’s annual meeting.

The award is presented to individuals who have gone “above the call of duty” in pursuit of a better highway system.  Previous awards have gone to industry advocates from both the public and private sectors. 

Geist is one of the senior statesmen of the Pennsylvania House.  Now in his 17th consecutive two-year term, he has moved to the top of the seniority list among House Republicans.  He has served as Republican chair of the Transportation Committee for the last 16 years, which is half of his tenure in the General Assembly.  He’s the longest-serving majority chair of that committee in House history. Read more