Featured, News

House and Senate Transportation Committees are set

January 15, 2021

As a new session of the General Assembly begins, both legislative houses have announced committee assignments. Those of us with a major interest in transportation are certain to have important measures launched and advanced in the House and Senate Transportation Committees.

There are a few new faces, most notably in the Senate, where Sen. Wayne Langerholc Jr., a Johnstown-area Republican, takes the reins as majority chair. Pottstown Republican Tim Hennessey remains as majority chair in the House. Sen. John Sabatina, a Philadelphia Democrat, and Rep. Mike Carroll, a Hughestown Democrat, remain as minority chairs in the Senate and House, respectively.

Langerholc replaces Sen. Kim Ward, who advanced to Senate majority leader. She was a strong supporter of several transportation initiatives, and PHIA and the construction industry wish her well.

It appears that Langerholc, an attorney, is an excellent choice to succeed Ward. According to the Johnstown Tribune-Democrat, he has been “a vocal advocate” for upgrading Route 219 between Johnstown and Maryland, as well as adding a second daily Amtrak passenger route between Pittsburgh and Harrisburg.

“We look forward to working with Senator Langerholc and the other committee leaders and members to find ways to address the funding needs of our transportation system,” said PHIA Managing Director Jason Wagner. “The needs are great, and the stakes are high, but both committees have capable, supportive members.”

Follow this link to read the Trib-Dem article on Langerholc’s appointment.


Sorry, Comments are closed.